Subscribe to Generalknowledgetoday's Dialy Free NewsLetter !
Published On: Sun, Oct 19th, 2014

Union Home Ministry announced to renamed 12 cities and towns of Karnataka


Union Home Ministry on 17 October 2014 announced to rename 12 cities and towns of Karnataka. The proposal was made on 27 October 2006 to change the names of the 12 towns and cities in consonance with their pronunciation in Kannada language by the Karnataka Government.

The State Revenue Department had sent the proposal to the Union Government seeking its nod for changing the names of 12 cities on 13 October 2008.

Bangalore as Bengaluru;
Mangalore as Mangaluru;
Bellary as Ballari;
Bijapur as Vijayapura or Vijapura;
Belgaum as Belagavi;
Chikmagalur as Chikkamagaluru;
Gulbarga as Kalaburagi;
Mysore as Mysuru;
Hospet as Hosapete;
Shimoga as Shivamogga;
Hubli as Hubballi, and
Tumkur as Tumakuru

The decision of home Ministry came after Survey of India, Ministry of Railways, Department of Posts, Ministry of Science and Technology and Intelligence Bureau have given their No Objection and clearance for the change in the nomenclature of the identified cities.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Laptops@Heavy Discount Prices !