The Dyarchy System

Dyarchy: Under the Government of India Act, 1919, the system of
Dyarchy (double government) was introduced under which provincial
governments were given more powers. Some subjects, such as fi-
nance and law and order were called ‘reserved’ subjects and re-
mained under the direct control of the Governor; others such as ed-
ucation, public health, and local self-government, were called ‘trans-
ferred’ subjects and were to be controlled by ministers responsible to
the legislatures.

Author: gktoday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.