South Sudan becomes world’s newest nation and the worlds 193rd nation

The Republic of South Sudan became the world’s 193rd nation yesterday, with its president saying that after 50 years of rebellion against the Muslim north it’s time to fight poverty, corruption and internal strife.

South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan, is a country in East Africa. Its capital and largest city is Juba, located in the southern state of Central Equatoria. The landlocked country is bordered by Ethiopia to the east; Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south; the Central African Republic to the west; and Sudan to the north. South Sudan includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd formed by the White Nile, locally called the Bahr al Jabal.

Author: gktoday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.