The Bharat Ratna,Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri

In 1954, the Government of India introduced decorations (in the form of medals) of four categories, namely, Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. While the Bharat Ratna is awarded for “exceptional services towards the advancement of Art, Literature and Science, and in recognition of public service of the highest order”, the others are awarded for “distinguished public service in any field, including service rendered by Government servants”, in order of the degree of the merit of their service.

These awards are mere decorations and not intended to be used as appendages to the names of the persons on whom they are awarded.

The recipients of Bharat Ratna in 1954 were C. Rajagopalachari (1878-1972); Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) and Dr. C. V. Ramam (1888-1970).

Author: gktoday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.