Home Rule League and Home Rule Society

Home Rule League: was formed in 1915 by Mrs Annie Besant. Lok-
manya Bal Gangadhar Tilak joined the movement in 1916.
In the Lucknow session of the Congress in 1916, the Home Rule Lea-
guers were able to demonstrate their political strength.
Home Rule Society : popularly called India House, was established
in London in 1905 by Shyamji Krishna Varma to promote the cause
of Indian independence.
India House was a centre for study, propaganda, training and political
action. A monthly journal&endash;The Indian Sociologist, was also
issued, and fellowships were also awarded.
The centre attracted many young men residing at different universi-
ties in England&endash;two of whom namely, Har Dayal and Vinayak
Damodar Savarkar, were prominent. Another youth member of the
centre was Madan Lal Dhingra.

Author: gktoday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.