Subscribe to Generalknowledgetoday's Dialy Free NewsLetter !
Published On: Mon, Jun 20th, 2016

All about Ashoka Chakra award



The Ashoka Chakra (alternative spelling: Ashok Chakra) is India’s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for the “most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice” other than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel. It replaced the British George Cross.

Flt Lt Suhas Biswas was the first Indian Air Force officer to be awarded the Ashoka Chakra. Subsequent awards of the Ashoka Chakra are recognized by a bar to the medal ribbon. A recipient can be awarded the Kirti Chakra or Shaurya Chakra in addition for separate acts of gallantry.

What is Ashoka Chakra award?

It was established as Ashoka Chakra, class I by the President of India on four January 1952 which came into effect from fifteen August 1947.
It is the highest Indian peacetime gallantry award which was constituted on similar lines of British Awards of the George Cross.
It was constituted as Ashok Chakra class I along with Ashok Chakra class II and III. These awards were renamed as the Ashoka, Kirti and Shaurya Chakras in 1967.
It is awarded for valor, courageous action or self sacrifice away from the battlefield.
Each recipient of the award will get 2800 rupees per month.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Laptops@Heavy Discount Prices !